Musings on the end of the world, and a few pictures of Scotland

So, being on the GAPS diet has got me thinking a bit more deeply about our 50 year plan.

I’m really having to update my tastebuds on this healing diet. I’m learning how to cook and enjoy a totally different style of food. Replacing sugar with honey, regular flour with almond flour, raw goats milk with coconut milk, and generally learning how to compose a meal without starch, sugar or dairy…

(Seeing and feeling great effects in my body, by the way)

But all of this has got me thinking about adjusting my pallet to the types of foods we can grow on our land. It makes sense that there are regional-specific tastes and cuisines. Carrots grow really poorly here, while tomatoes and zucchini thrive.

What kind of foods would I cook if I was only cooking what I could grow? Growing grains isn’t practical on a small plot of land. Would we be able to make bread, grow rice or even potatoes? (I don’t have the answers to these questions by the way, I’m just pondering.)

As we grow more and more of our own food I thinking our cooking and eating styles will naturally adapt to the ingredients we have on hand. It seems wise to know how to cook and enjoy what one can grow on one’s own land.

Just a thought for the day….

Here are some pictures from our trip. =)

IMG_2412

IMG_2414

IMG_2416

IMG_2417

IMG_2458

IMG_2491

IMG_2570

IMG_2587

IMG_2603

IMG_2636

IMG_2640

IMG_2651

IMG_2782

IMG_2882

IMG_2900

IMG_2959

IMG_2963

IMG_2990

IMG_3061

IMG_3075

Leave a Reply

