How Routine is Setting Me Free

I’m usually a do-things-as-the-mood-strikes kind of person, and I don’t really worry if I’m not in the mood to clean my bathrooms, because the mood will come around eventually. Right now, however, I’m realizing that there are too many things that need to get done for me to remember them all if I’m waiting for the mood to strike.

So, I decided to make a time-budget. Not really a schedule, but the week generally divided into different blocks for the different things I would like to fit in. And I’ve actually found this sort of routine very freeing.

I realized that I’ve been haunted by all of the tasks that are building up because I don’t know when I’m going to fit them in. Seeing my messy bathroom would frustrate me because I knew that it needed to be cleaned but I had no idea where the time was going to come from. Now I can say “on Tuesday afternoon” and move on to whatever task is at hand. More than anything, it relieves my mind of all of the things that I feel like I should be doing, so I can focus on one thing at a time.

I went to clean those messy bathrooms last week after drawing up my time-budget and realized that I actually had the time to do a really good job. I’ve been just doing a basic clean for so long because I believed I didn’t have the time. It felt wonderful to really scrub out the shower and vacuum up the hairballs that have been driving me crazy.

It makes me realize I have more time than I think I do.

It’s also been helping me take an active look at how I spend my time, and whether or not the things I really love are making it into my week. And helping me take the guess work out of “when am I going to have the time to cook this week?”

It’s been a good thing.

It serves me. But if I ever start to feel like I serve it, than I’ll throw it out the window. Because after all, sabbath was made for man, not man for the sabbath.

Leave a Reply

